A Princess of Mars

Edgar Rice Burroughs
(as Norman or Normal Bean)

It’s hard to say anything about Burroughs’ classic yarn, the foundation of the “planetary adventure” genre, that hasn’t been said before, elsewhere, and better.  But think!  It was the first story he ever sold, and if he had never written any more, would probably still be remembered as a landmark.

This was the first book I read & recorded for this project, and the original recording is quite rough. When I decided to read the two immediate sequels, The Gods of Mars and The Warlord of Mars (all three novels were bound together by the University of Nebraska Press in an attractive omnibus edition entitled Under the Moons of Mars, the title under which “Princess” was serialized in All-Story Magazine), I chose to read all three books in order, and make my re-recording of A Princess of Mars a Patreon exclusive.


All these are .MP3 files, right on an hour long at 192 kbps (except for the first two, which were sent out at 128 owing to my own error), putting them right about 82 MB.

Chapter List

For those who wish to follow along, the text of this work is available through Project Gutenberg.

  1. On the Arizona Hills
  2. The Escape of the Dead
  3. My Advent on Mars
  4. A Prisoner
  5. I Elude my Watch Dog
  6. A Fight that Won Friends
  7. Child–raising on Mars
  8. A Fair Captive from the Sky
  9. I Learn the Language
  10. Champion and Chief
  11. With Dejah Thoris
  12. A Prisoner with Power
  13. Love–making on Mars
  14. A Duel to the Death
  15. Sola Tells me her Story
  16. We Plan Escape
  17. A Costly Recapture
  18. Chained in Warhoon
  19. Battling in the Arena
  20. In the Atmosphere Factory
  21. An Air Scout for Zodanga
  22. I Find Dejah
  23. Lost in the Sky
  24. Tars Tarkas Finds a Friend
  25. The Looting of Zodanga
  26. Through Carnage to Joy
  27. From Joy to Death
  28. At the Arizona Cave

Standard reminder to support these broadcasts if you enjoy them goes here.

Author: publius

Fools! I will destroy you all!!